Let's discuss alliances in the Modern Variant.

Use this forum to discuss Diplomacy strategy.
Forum rules
This forum is limited to topics relating to the game Diplomacy only. Other posts or topics will be relocated to the correct forum category or deleted. Please be respectful and follow our normal site rules at http://www.webdiplomacy.net/rules.php.
GarlMargs

Let's discuss alliances in the Modern Variant.

#1 Post by GarlMargs » Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:59 pm

I'm a complete newbie at Modern, but enjoy it a lot and noticed the lack of posts about it in the strategy section. Bearing this in mind, I'd like to start a discussion on the strengths and weaknesses of various alliance in Modern.

A few questions to start

- What are some of the strongest alliances in your opinion? Why?

- What are some alliances that seem tricky to pull off or prone to fall apart quickly, and why?

- Does your approach to negotiation and choosing an ally in Modern differ from standard diplomacy? How?

ziran

Re: Let's discuss alliances in the Modern Variant.

#2 Post by ziran » Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:54 am

I don't have any knowledge on the subject but i would also like to learn. I doubt it has been analysed half as thoroughly.

GarlMargs

#3 Post by GarlMargs » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:11 pm

Just an update from a couple modern games I've been playing and spectating recently.

Germany/Italy seems to be a strong, fairly natural alliance. Italy and Germany aren't as isolated from each other as in Standard, which can create conflict over Switz and Austria. That said, their border looks pretty nice and clean and both have enough room to expand and enemies to fight that attacking each other is a pretty unattractive option. I could see something like an Italy/Germany/Russia triple working out very well.