A game?

General discussions that don't fit in other forums can go here.
Forum rules
Feel free to discuss any topics here. Please use the Politics sub-forum for political conversations. While most topics will be allowed please be sure to be respectful and follow our normal site rules at http://www.webdiplomacy.net/rules.php.
Pengwinja

A game?

#1 Post by Pengwinja » Thu Mar 07, 2024 12:45 pm

I am a board game designer, and so was my father. I am lacking inspiration, so I am making this forum because… uh… inspiration maybe? Just post things that could be a game idea, play a game in the forum, or just say some thing that is somehow related to gaming. :-D

Wattsthematter

Re: A game?

#2 Post by Wattsthematter » Thu Mar 07, 2024 1:42 pm

A game where a lucky dice throw is more powerful than a well thought out strategy sounds brilliant!

Pengwinja

#3 Post by Pengwinja » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:00 pm

Too late, they invented Risk. I could make a more luck-reliant game, which doesn’t cross into the candy-land only luck game.

Wattsthematter

#4 Post by Wattsthematter » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:18 pm

This is also the problem I have with Catan… can’t stand that game

Pengwinja

#5 Post by Pengwinja » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:25 pm

Settlers of Catan, I assume? I, personally, enjoy Catan Starfarers. Starfarers is a quicker, less complex game than settlers. Plays differently too. I usually play the duel version.

Pengwinja

#6 Post by Pengwinja » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:29 pm

Wattsthematter wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:18 pm
Is the problem because of too much luck, or not enough?

UnknownHero

#7 Post by UnknownHero » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:38 pm

Cooperative games seem to be all the rage lately... what about a game with both cooperative and competitive aspects, so you can win as an individual but if you sabotage your opponents too much you all end up losing? Has this been done before?

DougJoe

#8 Post by DougJoe » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:48 pm

UnknownHero wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:38 pm